IMG_1413

Whole30:Week 2!

IMG_1453

Hey guys! Can I just say first off, thank you so much for reading my blog! Everyone has been SO encouraging to Jared and me while we have been doing the Whole30. It is just unbelievable. I get excited knowing that people are reading, and then decide that maybe they want to try to go Paleo as well. Jared and I have been enjoying it so much, that we want everyone we know to do it also! The coolest part is that it’s not a diet! We don’t feel restricted in the least, and we are NEVER hungry. Everything we eat is so fresh and filling, and we never feel sick after we eat, or like we need to go lay down. It has been amazing to see our bodies changing over the past 14 days. I have not been weighing myself because they say not to weigh yourself on the Whole30, because it is about being healthy, not losing weight. I do plan to weigh at the end, though! However, my husband HAS been weighing though (rebel), and he has already lost 7 pounds!

Not only are we losing weight, but we just feel so much better. We have a clear conscience about what we are eating. We never regret eating what we eat. We feel like we are being good stewards of our money-not spending $9.00 on CHEESECAKE! Ridiculous. And we feel motivated and energized! I, personally, feel like I am much more focused and productive, because I am putting my energy into more important things than researching the next restaurant to go to, or thinking of the next dessert I can eat!

I am going to mention one more amazing thing that I have seen happen to me during this short time……and I’m not really sure if I should say it…..I probably shouldn’t…………..but I’m a pretty open person…..Ah….I’m scared to say it…….Okay here goes.

Well, any one who knows me well knows that I have digestive issues, meaning that I NEVER go to the bathroom. Like, ever. Somehow this ALWAYS comes up in conversation and people nearly fall out of their seats when they hear. It doesn’t hurt my stomach or make me feel bad, I just know that it’s not normal and cannot be healthy! I think the reason I have had these issues is because in highschool I lost a bunch of weight by restricting my calories, seriously restricting. And after doing that for a few years, my metabolism completely slowed down (STILL IS OUT OF WACK, PEOPLE – DON’T DO THIS) and it has never recovered. Anyway, so as I was saying….Whole30 has done wonders for me already! On the 6th day of the Whole30 I went to the bathroom, and I have been going regularly ever since! Like, EVERYDAY. It’s actually kind of weird. I am so not used to this. But I know it’s so healthy! And I’m so excited! It just shows that if you give your body the nutrients it needs, not sugar, bread and processed foods, it will function the way God made it to! I am so excited!!!

So, I’m really sorry if that grossed you out. Maybe I shouldn’t have brought that up, but I feel like it is PROOF that Paleo is amazing and life changing. That right there is incentive enough for me to do it forever! Yipppeee!!

Okay, enough about poop. Here is what we ate this week! :P

Day 8

For breakfast Monday morning, we had 3 scrambled eggs each, on top of a bed of spinach with tomatoes and avocado. I split the avocado in half and then cube it. Each of us eats a half. This is the most filling breakfast, ever!IMG_1342

For lunch, I sent Jared to work with one last bowl of chicken tortilla-less soup from last week, along with some raw veggies (carrots/broccoli-he doesn’t like celery…crazy!), some strawberries and grapes, and a handful of almonds.

I had an apple around 10:00, then had to head to school for an exam. When I got back around 2:00 I warmed up a sweet potato for lunch. I cooked a whole bunch of them at the beginning of the week to save time. I really love sweet potatoes. I have been eating about 1 (no more than 1) a day. I hope that is okay! I have been reading about the carb content, and supposedly one a day is okay.  I also had some broccoli/carrots/celery. This junk is FILLING.

Later, I had a grapefruit to snack on! I wasn’t really hungry, but I was nervous that I wasn’t going to eat enough calories this day. As I mentioned earlier, I have taken my body through so many crazy rollercoasters, and my metabolism has REALLLLLY slowed down. So I am really focusing on getting enough food in my belly every day!

I went for a walk around the neighborhood that came to 3.3. miles. It was so beautiful outside, and I couldn’t get warm in the house. It felt great to get out!

For dinner we had omelets! Can you tell we like eggs?! Haha! I put some sautéed spinach and mushrooms in mine. Jared loaded his with some guacamole and bacon! MmmmmmmIMG_1362

 

Day 9

For breakfast, we had the same things as we did the day before (had 3 scrambled eggs each, on top of a bed of spinach with tomatoes and avocado).

For lunch, I packed Jared some paleo chili! The recipe can be found here.He loved this soup! It was very easy to cook, too! I also packed lots of snacks for him. Throughout the day, at random times because of class, I had an apple, raw veggies, a bowl of veggie soup from last week, and a cup of fruit.IMG_1367IMG_1379

For dinner we had BURGERS! Jared prepared my burger the night before. It made 4 patties, actually. These were pretty tough to make, I think because we are still learning how to use our vitamix. It was still yummy none-the-less. If you don’t love vegetables, I don’t think you would enjoy it. It’s not like a black bean burger, at all! Thankfully, I LOVE veggies! There recipe can be found here. He had a HUMONGOUS curry burger. That recipe can be found here. We put our burgers on some lettuce and topped them with tomato and purple onion. Jared requested a fried egg on top of his. We also had sweet potatoes! Yummo! Talk about STUFFED.IMG_1396

IMG_1395After dinner we walked to the tennis courts and played around for a while. I really enjoy tennis, though I am not very good. Jared is teaching me though!IMG_1402

Day 10

For breakfast we had a fun frittata! It had purple onions, banana peppers, orange bell pepper, mushrooms, carrots, and chives. After sautéing these veggies, you add them to your mixed eggs. (I used 12 eggs so we could eat it for 2 meals.) Pour the mixture in your frying pan and let it set for 2 minutes. Then pop it in your preheated oven (400 degrees) for 12-14 minutes, or until it is solid. Yummmm!IMG_1412IMG_1413

For lunch, Jared had chili, mango raw veggies, and some almonds and walnuts. He is so easy going, I love it! I was at home ALL day working on a huge research project, and cramming for exams. Being home and being bored is never a good thing! Anyway, throughout the day I ate an apple, a bowl of veggie soup, ½ sweet potato, and a banana with 1 tbsp. of almond butter. That stuff is so good. I rarely eat it because it seems too good to be true, but its amazing!IMG_1420IMG_1430IMG_1437

For dinner  I had one of my favorite meals, what I refer to as the “Mexican egg dish.” It’s what we have for breakfast all the time, scrambled eggs on spinach, avo, with cherry tomatoes. Mmmmmm! I also had some raw veggies. My sweet hunk bought me a blueberry muffin Lara bar (Those are Whole30 approved) for a treat when I got home that night, but I wasn’t hungry! I decided to save it! :) Jared cooked an awesome meal all on his own! He grilled a burger on his new grill and had some veggies! What a cutie! He’s such an awesome chef! I’m thankful for that!

IMG_1440IMG_1443IMG_1444

Day 11

For breakfast we had leftover frittata! I had to leave the house at 7:20AM and knew I wouldn’t be home until 3:15. I was so stuffed from my frittata that I couldn’t even think of packing a lunch for the day, so I just stuck an apple and a bag of raw veggies in my bag to hold me over. At 7:45 AM I was faced with this temptation. I swear, EVERY DAY someone offers me junk food! I WOUD HAVE SAID YES EVERY SINGLE TIME IF I WASN’T ON WHOLE30!! PATHETIC! This stuff is so terrible for our bodies! I have an amazing, kind and generous cohort though, and they are so thoughtful for always bringing in goodies to make class more exciting! IMG_1449

 Jared had sweet potato chili for lunch, along with some “trail mix” (Walnuts, almonds, raisins), some fruit and veggies! I had a small sweet potato and a HUGE salad! IMG_1464

For dinner  we had tuna salad! The recipe can be found here.I had been looking forward to this all week. I made it last week and LOVED it! I read online that for my height and weight, I shouldn’t eat more than 1 can of tuna a week because of the mercury content. That stinks! Otherwise, I would eat it more often! IMG_1469

 This was the only “hard” day of Whole30 that I have experienced so far. I was SO….so…soooooo bloated. It was painful. I could hardly breathe! I was reading online, and they said that too many raw veggies can be hard for your stomach to digest, especially BROCCOLI. I LOVE raw broccoli…..I eat a lot of it every day. Also, I had watermelon the night before, which can make you bloated supposedly. I read that apples cause bloating as well, and I eat an apple everyday. That stinks! I am going to lay off the raw broccoli for a while and see if it helps.

Day 12

Jared and I had different things for breakfast on day 12. We always eat breakfast together before he leaves for work, but this morning I wasn’t hungry that early in the morning. So, I cooked him some scrambled eggs, bacon, and 1/2 of an avocado. He was a happy guy, eating meat in the morning! :) IMG_1478Later, I fixed my favorite meal-Scrambled eggs/Spinach/Tomato/1/2 Avo. Ahhhmazing. So good. I decided to go for a jog after breakfast. I jogged a little over 4 miles, and boy did it kill my chest. It was SOOOO cold. I had no idea!! C’mon, summer weather!IMG_1482 IMG_1488

For lunch Jared had the last bit of his sweet potato chili. He loved it so much that he wants me to make it again next week! He also had some “trail mix” (almonds, walnuts, raisins) and some fruit. I was out of the house all day, so I packed an apple and a Lara bar (the one Jared bought me the other night!) When I finally got home, I had a bowl of veggie soup. That soup has lasted FOR. EVER. It made so much!!

The reason I was out of the house all afternoon was because I had tons of errands to run, one being a visit to the eye doctor! It was petrified…I had never been to the eye doctor before. Things have been blurry lately, and my eyes have a hard time focusing. After that brutal experience, I learned that I have an astigmatism in each eye, and that’s why I struggle to see! I am going to order some glasses this week, once I can decide on some I love!

IMG_1508 Dilated eyes..SO weird.IMG_1514

We had some friends over for dinner and decided to grill out. I had my favorite:cedar plank salmon. Jared had a big ole steak! We also grilled some zucchini and steamed some broccoli. It was fabulous! IMG_1527 IMG_1528IMG_1529 IMG_1530

Day 13

On Saturday Morning, we slept in until 9AM! That was glorious! Once we crawled out of bed, we had the same ole “Mexican Egg Dish” for breakfast. I just love it. Jared says, “Why fix it if it ain’t broke?!” Just kidding. He doesn’t ever say that. But he did say it that morning! Haha!

After breakfast, we decided to go on an adventure and buy some new sunglasses! I’ve never owned nice sunglasses, so I’m super excited about my new Ray Bans! I just hope I can manage to keep them in one piece! Haha! I will! I’m going to take great care of these babies!

IMG_1542IMG_1543For lunch, I prepared Jared some turkey roll-ups (3 slices of turkey rolled up with lettuce, tomato, red pepper flakes inside), along with some strawberries and nuts/raisins. Sometimes simple is just the best! I had an apple and a bowl of veggie soup.IMG_1548For dinner we went simple, again. Ha! We are both so easy going. I had an apple pie Lara bar. I warmed it up for 20 seconds. Sooo good. Jared had a blueberry muffin Lara bar. We each had 2 scrambled eggs and Jared had some bacon. Can you believe I have been cooking bacon!? I never saw that coming! IMG_1561IMG_1559 IMG_1560

Day 14

On Day 14, (yesterday), we had the scrambled egg with avo dish for breakfast. I used coconut oil this time to cook the eggs. Whole30 INSISTS that you cook with fats. I find this frightening, and I have ignored that guideline thus far. I have been eating fats, such as avocado and nuts, but I have never cooked with butter or oil. But after reading more about it, it seems like it is crucial to cook with fats. I am going to try to use a tbsp of coconut oil when I am cooking eggs or sauteeing veggies from now on. It’s sooo good for our bodies! I need to stop being scared of it!

Anyway, next we went to church. After church we had a trail mix snack (that my adorable husband packed, aw!), which was some almonds, walnuts and raisins. We then went grocery shopping. We spent $110 this week! Yay! We have been spending $130 on Whole30, which is so depressing! We never spend that much on groceries. But I found ways to cut cost this week! Yippeee!

When we got back from the grocery store, I cleaned out the refrigerator and put everything away. Then we had some lunch! I made Jared some scrambled eggs and bacon (his request..haha!) and I just warmed up some vegetable soup. Weekends are so relaxing, I just don’t feel like cooking elaborate meals!IMG_1584 IMG_1585 IMG_1586IMG_1588

For dinner, we went to my mom and dad’s house! My mom is doing Paleo too, which is soo awesome, because we can eat her food! My mother-in-law is doing Paleo as well, and she has lost 16 pounds! She is looking SO good! You should have seen her little skinny jeans the other night! They were adorable! Anyway, for dinner we had amazing sauteed shrimp and mushrooms, with steamed broccoli and carrots. My mom is an amazing cook! It was one of the best Paleo meals I have had yet! Although, it’s hard to choose my favorite one, because they are all so yummy.IMG_1601 IMG_1600

So, that’s how our week went! I realize the pictures are getting really old. The same old plates….Same old eggs….Same old dining room table….Haha! There’s not much I can do about it! We are excited for this upcoming week! I am completely done with classes, until the 15th that is! But I am sooo happy! I don’t even know what to do with myself! Today I plan to make Jared’s chili, my veggie soup, cook shrimp for the week to put on my salads, and cook some sweet potatoes.

I hope you guys all have an amazing day! Let’s pray for sunshine all week! The weather this weekend was just nasty! Ugh!

Talk to you guys soon!

XOXO

-EmEmSign

Here is our grocery list for this week! We didn’t have to buy nuts this week or tuna because we bought in bulk last week! Hooray!

Vegetables:

Avocado (8) .50 Food Lion

Whole Tomatoes (Roma – .79 Lb Food Lion)

Celery (2)

Baby Carrots $1 Publix

Long Carrots

Sweet Potatoes (6)  .59 Lb Food Lion

Scallions 2/$3 Ingles

Broccoli (1)

Grape Tomatoes (1) 1.98 Ingles

Spinach

Arugula

1 – 28 oz can crushed tomatoes

2 1/2 cups beef stock

2 (16 ounce) cans whole peeled tomatoes,

2 Onions .68 Lb Ingles

14 oz veggie broth

1 zucchini 1.49 Lb Publix

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

kale

Fruits:

Apples

Strawberries  .99 Aldi

Grapes 2.69 Publix

Bananas .44 Aldi

Pineapple .99 Aldi

Grapefruit

Meats:

1 lb ground beef

Bacon

Salmon

Shrimp

Steak

Other:

Lara Bars (2)

Eggs (2 30 Ct)

Salsa

Tomato Juice 2 qt

 

And here is our  meal plan – It isn’t very specific on my meals for lunch. I kinda just throw stuff together, and I’m never sure what I will feel like!

Week 3 Meal Plan 

Monday:

Breakfast: Mexican Breakfast (1 Avo, 1 Tomato, Spinach, 6 eggs)

Lunch: J: Turkey Wraps/Veggies/Fruit/Trail Mix  E:Kale Salad

http://www.elanaspantry.com/kale-salad-with-grapefruit/

Dinner: Steak/Sweet Potato E:Mini frittata/Fruit (E out for night)

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Frittata

Lunch: J:Chili/Fruit/Veggies/Trail Mix E:Salad/1/2 sweet potato/Veggies

Dinner: (Date night)

Wednesday:

Breakfast: Mexican Breakfast (1 Avo, 1 Tomato, Spinach, 6 eggs)

Lunch: Turkey Wraps/Veggies/Fruit/Trail Mix E:Soup/Salad

Dinner: J:Chili E:Eggs! (E out for night)

Thursday:

Breakfast: Leftover Frittata

Lunch: J:Chili/Fruit/Veggies/Trail Mix E:Salad/1/2Sweet potato/Veggies

Dinner: Tuna Salad –> Before SG

Friday:  

Breakfast: Mexican Breakfast (1 Avo, 1 Tomato, Spinach, 6 eggs)

Lunch: J:Chili E:Mini Frittata

Dinner: (Quick-Wedding) 2 Lara Bars, Ants on a Log, Nuts!

Saturday:

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs with bacon

Lunch: Cobb Salad/Soup/Whatever!

Dinner: Egg Wraps (J-Turkey/Tomato E-Veggie)

Sunday:

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs/fruit

Lunch: at du Plooy’s Salmon/Steak /Salad

Dinner: LEFTOVERS!

One thought on “Whole30:Week 2!

  1. I’m SO glad that you decide to put this whole thing up! It really helps me plan out my weeks!! Also, I have found watermelon bloats me too!! I don’t know why, but I eat very little of it because it causes me so much pain!! Good luck this week and thanks for blogging about this!

Leave a Reply

