Our Trip to New Orleans

This past weekend, Jared and I decided to take a spontaneous trip to New Orleans so that we could experience the city together! We left for Louisiana on Thursday afternoon and headed back to Atlanta on Sunday afternoon. We went without an itinerary (which is very unlike us), and we decided to explore the entire time we were there!

I have actually been to New Orleans one time. In the 7th grade, I flew out to visit my best friend Jordan who had just recently moved there from Atlanta. I hardly remember that trip, except for the part where I got to met Frankie Muniz downtown. Jordan and I have stayed close ever since she moved away from Atlanta, and she was even a bridesmaid in my wedding!

NOLA-1 NOLA-2 NOLA-4 NOLA-5 NOLA-6 NOLA-7

There wasn’t a dull moment during our trip. From Vespa crashes, to Bourbon Street, to crawfish, to street floods, we experienced quite a bit in the short amount of time we were there.

This was the first real road trip Jared and I have taken together. We have driven to Asheville and Chattanooga, but those don’t really count! It was so much fun to road trip together, and I cannot wait to do it again this summer! Jared did most of the driving, but I contributed about 2 and a half hours each way. On the way down, we had to stop twice for bathroom breaks and sour candy. We found ourselves starving for dinner in the middle of nowhere, Mobile, Alabama. Wow. Praise the Lord for McDonald’s oatmeal and dollar menu ice cream cones.

Once we arrived on Thursday evening, we were too tired to do anything, and went straight to the hotel and put on some March Madness. I was asleep within 5 minutes! 😛

NOLA-8 NOLA-9 NOLA-10 NOLA-11 NOLA-12 NOLA-13

We woke up early Friday morning and headed downtown for some breakfast at the famous Stanley.

NOLA-14 NOLA-15 NOLA-16 NOLA-17 NOLA-18 NOLA-19 NOLA-20

They had an awesome system for the waiting list at this restaurant. They asked for my cell phone number and texted me to let me know how long our wait was, and a link to click that would let me check at any time during the wait to see how close we were to getting a table. I think this is brilliant!

NOLA-21 NOLA-22 NOLA-23 NOLA-24 NOLA-25 NOLA-26 NOLA-27 NOLA-28 NOLA-29 NOLA-30 NOLA-31

Jared ordered a dish that consisted of fried oysters, 2 poached eggs on an English muffin with Canadian bacon. I got a “poached egg poor boy”, which was basically 2 poached eggs on French bread with Creole hollandaise sauce. This meal was delish!

NOLA-32 NOLA-33 NOLA-34 NOLA-35 NOLA-36

After breakfast, we explored the French Quarter Fest. There was so much beautiful artwork, and tons of amazing musicians. The French Quarter is incredible. Jared said it really looks just like France! I loved it!

NOLA-37 NOLA-38 NOLA-39 NOLA-40 NOLA-41 NOLA-42 NOLA-43 NOLA-44 NOLA-45 NOLA-46 NOLA-47 NOLA-48 NOLA-49 NOLA-50 NOLA-51 NOLA-52 NOLA-54 NOLA-55 NOLA-56 NOLA-57 NOLA-58

At the Festival, they had over 100 restaurants that had set up booths (similar to food trucks) where you could sample dishes from their restaurant. We decided to eat lunch at the festival. Jared had a fish taco from one booth. I tried a crab cake and macaroni from one. The crab cake just had a really weird texture (I am so weird about textures) so I wasn’t a huge fan. We got a bowl of Crawfish Etoufee to share, and it was INCREDIBLE! It was probably one of my favorite dishes from the whole trip!

NOLA-59 NOLA-60 NOLA-61

Yes, that says ALLIGATOR CORNDOG.

NOLA-62 NOLA-63 NOLA-64 NOLA-65 NOLA-66 NOLA-67 NOLA-68 NOLA-69 NOLA-70 NOLA-71 NOLA-72 NOLA-73

After lunch, we did some more exploring. We listened to some crazy Cajun music, and it was a blast! Everyone was having so much fun!

NOLA-74 NOLA-75 NOLA-76 NOLA-77 NOLA-78 NOLA-79 NOLA-80 NOLA-81 NOLA-82 NOLA-83 NOLA-84 NOLA-85 NOLA-86 NOLA-87 NOLA-88 NOLA-89 NOLA-90 NOLA-91 NOLA-92 NOLA-93 NOLA-94 NOLA-95 NOLA-96

OH MY WORD. I THINK HE IS SO HANDSOME. AHHH

NOLA-97 NOLA-98 NOLA-99 NOLA-100 NOLA-101

On Friday evening we ate dinner at a restaurant called Tivoli & Lee. We were fortunate enough to go to dinner with some of Jared’s clients who are located in New Orleans. We had so much fun spending the evening with them! Our food was a little on the salty side, but still yummy! The appetizer was a kale cesar salad. I had shrimp Andouille pasta as my main dish, which was pasta with shrimp, cheese, and green beans. It was very Cajun-y, and super flavorful. Jared had some kind of chicken and polenta dish, and he said it was great!
NOLA-102 NOLA-103 NOLA-104 NOLA-105 NOLA-106 NOLA-107

And oh my word, check out what we had for dessert! BROWNIE SUNDAY! This was the jam!

NOLA-108 NOLA-109 NOLA-110 NOLA-111

On Saturday morning, we walked to an adorable restaurant called Satsuma that our friends Chad and Beth recommended to us. I had an awesome iced vanilla latte, along with the “green bagel”, which was a whole wheat bagel with scrambled eggs, arugula, avocado, and Swiss cheese. It was so tasty! Jared had the green eggs and ham on a croissant, and he loved it! This place was awesome, and it reminded me a lot of West Egg in Atlanta.

NOLA-112 NOLA-113 NOLA-114 NOLA-115 NOLA-116 NOLA-117 NOLA-118 NOLA-119 NOLA-120 NOLA-121 NOLA-122 NOLA-123

After breakfast, we decided to take a ride on the Vespa into downtown New Orleans to enjoy the festival and to meet up with my friend Jordan. I was so excited to see Jordan that I was about to burst! I hadn’t seen her since my wedding! So, we buckled our helmets, and began our adventure on the Vespa!

NOLA-124

NOLA-126

We made it about 4 miles, and then something terrible happened. Oh no! We had to make a really sharp turn and it happened really fast and we went in the other lane and swerved to avoid oncoming traffic and we crashed! AHHH! It just happened so fast and it was so scary. Silly me was wearing a dress and sandals, so I scraped up my leg a bit. I called Jordan and asked her to meet us before the festival so that I could clean up. Cleaning this wound was just awful. It took everything in me to hold back the tears. Eventually, I began to black out and sank back onto Jared’s legs and turned completely white. I laid on the floor and he handed me a Kleenex with alcohol to help me stay conscious. After some time, I was able to get up off the bathroom floor, and relocated to the bed. Jordan was so sweet and came and kept me company until I gained the strength to get back out there and enjoy the city!

NOLA-127

Once I was finally feeling a little better, we headed to Bourbon Street to find some lunch. We found a cool spot for lunch, and we found much more than that on Bourbon Street. Woah. So many “creative” outfits. Sheesh. Not taking my kids there! Haha! For lunch we ate at Palace Cafe and Jared, Jordan, and I all got shrimp po-boy’s! Yummo!!! Check it out!

NOLA-128 NOLA-129 NOLA-130 NOLA-131 NOLA-132 NOLA-133 NOLA-134 NOLA-135 NOLA-136 NOLA-137 NOLA-138 NOLA-139 NOLA-140

We went in lots of shops and listened to some funky music, and just had a good time exploring. I feel so thankful that I got to visit with Jordan! She actually lives 2.5 hours outside of New Orleans, and she drove all the way to see us! She’s a great friend! Here are some more pictures from the day.

NOLA-141 NOLA-142 NOLA-143 NOLA-144 NOLA-145 NOLA-146 NOLA-147 NOLA-148 NOLA-149 NOLA-150

We headed back and got dressed for dinner. I somehow managed to put jeans on over my wounded leg, but that was very painful! We went to Superior Seafood with our friends Chad and Beth for dinner. They recommended this restaurant because they our locals and they eat there often.

NOLA-151 NOLA-152 NOLA-153 NOLA-154 NOLA-155 NOLA-156 NOLA-157

Ah! It was delicious. Jared said it was the best meal he had on the trip. He had some kind of humongous shrimp stuffed with mozzarella cheese wrapped with bacon. Yuck! Haha! Jordan had Crawfish Etoufee, and I had some kind of Cajun Salmon and grits. Shoooo weeeee! So. Much. Good. Food. And then, to top it off, we ordered bread pudding for dessert. This was my first time trying it, and I was a little apprehensive, but it was to die for. Here are some pictures from dinner! We were having way too much fun.

NOLA-158 NOLA-159 NOLA-160 NOLA-161 NOLA-162 NOLA-163 NOLA-164 NOLA-165 NOLA-166 NOLA-167 NOLA-168 NOLA-169 NOLA-170 NOLA-171 NOLA-172 NOLA-173 NOLA-174 NOLA-175 NOLA-176

We slept in a little bit on Sunday morning, so that we would be rested for our long drive home. It STORMED all through the night, and we woke up to flooded streets! We waited for the water to drain, and then headed out for some food! We had a late breakfast/early lunch at a great little trendy restaurant called Refuel. It was fabulous. I enjoyed a beautiful vanilla latte, and also had the “Medditeraan Scramble.” It was scrambled eggs with spinach, onion, sundried tomato, and feta cheese. It tasted so good, and so fresh. I want to try to make this at home!

NOLA-177 NOLA-179 NOLA-180 NOLA-181

Unfortunately, we had to hop on the road shortly after breakfast. It takes about 8 hours to get home from Louisiana, and we were feeling very sleepy.  We kept ourselves occupied on the road with a Matt Chandler sermon, some Spotify, and some yummy coffee! As soon as I get behind the wheel, Jared passes out. It is so cute. I love looking over at him and watching him sleep. I still just can’t believe he’s my husband, and that we will be doing road trips together for the rest of our lives. And eventually, our children will be in the back seat! That is CRAZY! I love doing life with him.

So that concludes our road trip! We walked in the door, and passed out! It felt to good to be back in our bed! There’s nothing like it!

So overall, we LOVED New Orleans! It has so much culture, so much history, and so much personality. We would love to go back again, and explore even more. It seems like there are always festivals going on, so I’m sure we will be able to find an excuse to go!! 🙂

I’ll be back soon!

XOXO

-Em

4 thoughts on “Our Trip to New Orleans

  1. Great pictures Emily!!! You look great, happy and so much in LOVE!! So happy for you and your husband! And I am so glad you and Jordan were able to spend some time together in the GREAT CITY NOLA!!!

  2. Hey girl! Man oh man, just caught up on your blog! I love all of your pictures!! I need to get better about having my camera ready all the time (especially with a small one). I miss you! I’m coming home for a couple of weeks in July so I hope to see you at our bi annual Kani House reunion! ❤

  3. And double: First, this blog is dedicated mainly
    to the paleo/low-carb diet and the Fluorine and its impact on health
    is one of them. The paleo plan is a change in the way that it turned out really well.
    The paleo plan is a change in the way that we think about and approach the
    foods we are eating, or even why we are eating it.
    Let me say why this is probably one of the few places neither of us had been to in St.

Leave a Reply

