Whole30:Week 1

This week was the first week of our Whole30 challenge. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Whole30, it’s basically a Paleo eating plan. All the fruit, vegetables, and meat you want, with the exception of white potatoes and beans. We have SO enjoyed this past week, and are so excited to continue! We have found that the food we are eating is extremely filling, so filling in fact, that it seems like we are cheating!! Everything tastes so yummy and fresh, and there is no feeling of guilt or regret after we eat. It feels so good to know that we are making healthy choices and giving our bodies the nutrients they are longing for! We are feeling energetic, MUCH less bloated, and sleeping wonderfully!

Here is a quick run down of week 1!

Day 1:

By the end of day one, we were feeling very enthusiastic and pumped about the whole30! No cravings, headaches, etc. Jared and I were both faced with temptation on day 1. Jared’s co-worked brought in 1 dozen chickfila cookies, and we had a “party” is class with tons of junk food. I was so glad I couldn’t eat it. So many wasted calories.

For breakfast, we each had 4 medium scrambled eggs and coffee.IMG_1139

For lunch, Jared had 3 turkey/tortilla wraps, a handful of almonds, fruit, and raw veggies. I had a sweet potato and fruit. I absolutely LOVE sweet potatoes. IMG_1149IMG_1143

I was out for the evening, so for dinner Jared grilled out with his buddy and had steak and a sweet potato. I had a salad with almonds, carrots, tomatoes, grapes, and broccoli. I also had some raw veggies (carrots, celery, and broccoli), as well as a Lara Bar. These are Whole30 approved, though I do not want to eat many of them, because it is more of a dessert type of food.IMG_1155

Day 2:

By the end of Day 2, we were feeling the same as we had the night before. Still really excited, and wondering why it was so easy?!

For breakfast, we each had 3 scrambled eggs on top of a bed of spinach with tomatoes, topped with avocado. This was AMAZING, and kept us full until lunch!IMG_1173

For lunch, Jared had 3 turkey/tortilla wraps, a handful of almonds, fruit, and raw veggies. I was so full from breakfast that I couldn’t eat lunch and I was at school for the whole day. I packed an apple and raw veggies and that kept my full.

For dinner we had tuna salad. I put mine on a bed of mixed greens, and Jared ate his in lettuce wraps. I made a boo boo on this meal, though…I topped my tuna salad with craisins, which have added sugar. These are NOT Whole30 approved. Woops!! I won’t eat them again! 😛IMG_1189IMG_1190

For a snack later that evening, I had a banana with 2 tbsp of almond butter. YUM!!!

Day 3:

Still feeling great!! Jared was faced with Fig Netwons, and I was faced with another in-class party with lots of junk food. When you are the one not eating it, you realize how much you would have eaten, even when you aren’t hungry! I never want to go back to those junk-food-snacking ways.

For breakfast, we each had 3 scrambled eggs on top of a bed of spinach with tomatoes, topped with avocado, again. We are hooked.

For a mid-morning snack, I had a Gala Apple. Those are my favorite.

For lunch, Jared had the same thing he has had all week. I had a sweet potato and veggie soup. I LOVE LOVE LOVE soup. This recipe made so much, I will be eating it next week, too! (I didn’t use the french onion mix it calls for, and I used veggie broth instead of beef)IMG_1148

I was out of the house this evening, so I made Jared some  chicken tortilla-less soup for dinner. He said it was incredible! I had another huge salad with almonds, grapes, strawberries, carrots, and broccoli. YUM! I also had some raw veggies and grapes. IMG_1205

Day 4

By the end of Day 4, we were feeling very tired. Still feeling great about Whole30, but just very sleepy. I read online that our bodies are learning how to rely on the protein and nutrients we are giving it, when before it was running off of the junk we were putting in it.

We had 3 scrambled eggs on top of a bed of spinach with tomatoes, topped with avocado for breakfast, again. I want it every meal, basically. 🙂

For lunch, I packed Jared a bowl of chicken tortilla-less soup. I also packed him some rolled up lunch meat, raw veggies and almonds. I had a sweet potato, apple, and raw veggies. I am so busy during the day, I like these things that I can take on the go with me.

For dinner, we had omelets! Jared had a 3 egg omelet and I had one with 2 eggs. Mine had chives, cherry tomatoes, and guacamole inside. Jared’s had the same, except he added bacon! Yuck! 😛 I had him do the cooking of the bacon….Haha IMG_1235

Day 5

We felt much more energized on Day 5, and felt so so healthy!! We had the mindset, “Let’s do Paleo forever!” It really is THAT awesome.

For breakfast, we had vegetable frittata. I used 12 scrambled eggs, (Enough for 2 days), cherry tomatoes, chives, sautéed spinach and onion and banana pepper. This was DELICIOUS! We also had a few strawberries.IMG_1248IMG_1249IMG_1251

I had a snack at 10:30: Gala Apple. Such a treat!

For lunch, Jared had chicken tortilla-less soup, an apple with almond butter and raisins, some fruit and raw veggies. I gotta keep him full!

IMG_1254

For dinner Friday night, I went to Cheeky for a ladies night. I ordered Shrimp Fajitas with no butter or oil. No tortilla or sour cream, but lots of guacamole, pico de gallo, and salsa! It was amazing! Jared had eggs and bacon, I think! I can’t really remember. I just know that I didn’t cook this meal for him! IMG_1288 IMG_1289

Oh hey, red eyes! Cute!IMG_1337We also had amazing cupcakes at the party! I didn’t eat them, and it wasn’t even hard to say no! WHO AM I!?! IMG_1338

Day 6

On Saturday, we woke up and had leftover fritatta. So. So. Good! We went to the movies to see 42. It was really good! Super inspiring! I love the weekend. And I love matinees! IMG_1298We rushed home, and I had 15 minutes to spare before I had to head to my friend Ashley’s bridal shower. I decided to throw my left over fajitas on top of a bed of mixed greens and add some pineapple and tomatoes. It was tasty! IMG_1300We had dinner with friends that night. Everyone had nice chicken fajitas (without the tortilla) and I had fajita veggies. We also made some homemade pico de gallo, guacamole, and sweet potato fries. MMM mmm MMMMMM! IMG_1310

Hmmm…..all of the days are running together.

Day 7

Yesterday, we had some scrambled eggs for breakfast topped with some fancy pico de gallo. Sorry some of these pictures aren’t so pretty…They are just eggs. HahaIMG_1312

I had an apple after church for a snack, and a sweet potato for lunch. Jared had leftover chicken tortilla soup.

We went grocery shopping after lunch for week 2. I will post our menu and grocery list below. IMG_1329

For dinner, we grilled out with my in-laws (in the rain – Jared is dedicated, haha!) and we had salmon, sweet potatoes, broccoli, and salad. So much food, yet again! I was stuffed!

IMG_1336

And so that’s the end of week 1. We have had an amazing week and we feel SO healthy. I don’t feel bloated, and I am already noticing changes in the way my body is operating. I haven’t been having any mood swings, highs and lows, or ANY cravings. That’s only by the power of Jesus, because I know I couldn’t be passing up sugar on a daily basis by my own will power. We are loving this so much that we want to do it forever! We will see if our excitement decreases are we continue, but I would be surprised if it did!

Here is our menu/grocery list for week 2. The items that are bold are the items I got at Walmart and price matched. I hope you ALL price match. It’s the best thing ever. We save so much money!

Whole30 Week 2 Menu

 

Monday:

Breakfast: Mexican Scrambled Eggs (1 Avocado, 6 eggs)

Lunch: J-Tortilla Soup E- Sweet Potato/Soup

Dinner:Omelet’s (Sauteed spinach/Mushroom) with avo and cabbage

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Fritatta with onion, spinach, banana pepper, carrot (12 eggs)

Lunch: J- Turkey Lettuce Wraps E- Salad

Dinner: Burgers! (1 Av, 1 Tomato, 2 sweet potatoes)

(Jared is in charge of the burgers, and I’m not sure where his recipes are located. I will post them next time! I’m having a veggie burger and he’s having beef.)

Wednesday:

Breakfast: Leftover Fritatta

Lunch: Left over burgers (1 Av, 1 Tomato)

Dinner: J-Bacon/Avo Omelet (4 eggs, 3 bacon, ½ Av)

Thursday:

Breakfast: Mexican Scrambled Eggs (1 Avocado, 6 eggs)

Lunch: J-Chili E – Sweet Potato/Salad

Dinner: Tuna Salad (1 av)

http://www.theluckypennyblog.com/2013/03/paleo-chili.html

Friday:

Lunch: J-Chili  E-Greek Salad

Dinner: Grill out with Hills – Steak, salmon, sweet potatoes, salad

Saturday:

Lunch: Big Cobb Salad (Tomato, mushroom, boiled eggs, bacon, carrots, broccoli)

Dinner: at Transit party?

Sunday:

Lunch: Leftover – Get creative!

Dinner: Omelet’s

Vegetables:

Avocado (8) (.50, Aldi)

Whole Tomatoes (1.00 Lb On the Vine: Food Lion)

4 Onion (.69 Lb: Food Lion, Vidalia)

Peppers (3 Pk 3.49, Food Lion)

Mushrooms (1.79, Food Lion)

Iceberg Lettuce (.69 Aldi)

2 Lime (.99 Per Bag Aldi)

Celery (2)

Baby Carrots

Shaved Carrots

Sweet Potatoes (10)

Broccoli (1)

Grape Tomatoes

Spinach

Bib Lettuce?

1 Purple Onion

1 Mixed Greens

1 head Cauliflower

Snap Peas

1 Garlic Clove

1 – 28 oz can crushed tomatoes

1 tablespoon tomato paste

2 1/2 cups beef stock

Fruits:

Apples ($1.29, Fuji Publix)

Strawberries (2/$3: Food Lion)

Mango (.59 Aldi)

Grapes

Pineapple

Meats:

Tuna (4 Ct 5 Oz Bumble Bee Solid White 6.69 Publix)

2lb ground beef ($2.00 Lb: Food Lion)

Bacon (2/$6 Kroger)

2 Steaks

2 Salmon Filets

Other:

Almonds

Walnuts ½ C

Eggs (2 30 Ct)

Paprika

Thanks for reading! I hope you all have a fabulous week. Don’t let the rain get you down! (I’m preaching to myself, I hate the rain!)

XOXO

-EmEmSign

7 thoughts on “Whole30:Week 1

  1. You have totally inspired me!! Scott and I are not doing sugar for 60 days, so I think I can make that leap to eliminating a few other things from our diet. I need to get with you for some recipes….that’s the hard part, making up the weekly menu. Love you both!!

  2. Aw, thanks for the encouragement, PJ! You guys are very disciplined, you could definitely do it! I would love to chat with you about it! You will probably have to wait until you eat all of your amazing freezer meals!!! Yum!!! Please, let’s get together! Love you guys!

  3. do you see weight loss on this plan… sounds like you would. Do you put any type of dressing on your salads?

Leave a Reply

