Whole30:Week 3!

Hey guys!! I hope you all have had an amazing week!! Things have been going great over here at the du Plooy household! We have completed week 3 of the Whole30, and are still as enthusiastic as ever! I don’t think I will stop once I reach day 30! Jared is down 9 WHOLE ENTIRE POUNDS! How crazy is that?! I’m so proud of him! This is the best thing ever! We are eating so much yummy food, and getting healthy while doing it! Here are my feelings on Whole30:

Things I am loving about Whole30:
More energy
Clear Skin
Cooking fun, beautiful food
No mind games, going back and forth, should I eat that, should I not?
Clear thinking
Normal bathroom use
More productivity
Increased motivation
No BLOATING

Things I am NOT loving about Whole30:
Expensive groceries
Lots and lots of dishes
Tough to eat out places other than Mexican food

As you can see, the list of things I love is much longer! It’s wonderful! Here is an overview of our week. I am not going to list everything we eat for every meal of the day. I feel like that is getting verrrrrrry boring.

 Monday (Day 15)

After breakfast, and once Jared had left for work, I got to chopping! Literally! I made a big batch of chili for Jared and vegetable soup for me. This requires SO much chopping. I thought my arm was going to fall off. But it’s totally worth it! All of the flavors make the house smell good! And it makes life during the week much easier when we already have soup prepared!
IMG_1613IMG_1617I had to eat dinner before Jared got home because I had to leave to go nanny. I whipped up a quick frittata for myself. Here’s what I did:

Preheat oven to 375
Crack 3 eggs and whisk them together.
Add salt and pepper.
Sauté kale with some garlic in a medium pan until the kale is soft.
Cut up one Roma tomato, and place is on top of the kale.
Pour the egg mixture on top of your veggies evenly.
Let the eggs sit for about a minute until they are set.
Pop the frittata in the over for about 10 minutes. (Keep checking it)
Once it looks solid, set the oven to broil and let the frittata broil for 1 minute.
 ENJOY!

So easy! So filling! So fresh! So awesome! You can add whatever ingredients you want! How fun is that! You should try it!!
IMG_1627IMG_1628
Tuesday (Day 16)

This was the day that I fell in love with boiled eggs. Seriously. Obviously I LOVE eggs, but I have always been scared of boiled eggs because they stink.  Because I do not eat meat other than fish, I decided I needed to try boiled eggs so that I could get protein during the day when I’m not at home. Jared boiled some eggs for me at the beginning of the week so that they would be there for me when I needed them. Y’all, I put them on my salad, and they were SOOOOO good! Wow! How awesome! Such an easy, yummy protein source! I am excited!!
IMG_1681
We went out for dinner to celebrate our 10 month anniversary! I cannot believe we are so close to our 1 year! Wow!!!! It has gone by so fast. It’s hard to imagine my life without him now. Anyway, we had Mexican food! I had shrimp fajitas and Jared had the Texas Fajitas with steak, chicken and shrimp! We said no to the chips, tortillas, and sour cream. Instead, we got extra pico and guacamole! This meal was fabulous!
IMG_1688IMG_1695IMG_1696IMG_1697
We went to Trader Joes afterwards, because I love grocery stores and was dying to go! And we also wanted to get some items that we couldn’t find elsewhere. I came across these dried fruit strips that we tried. They have no additives, and they are only 55 calories! That’s awesome. Usually dried fruit is so high. They were amazing!
IMG_1702IMG_1703
 Wednesday (Day 17)

I went shopping with my mom, and we stopped at Cheeky for lunch. I had an INCREDIBLE salad with lettuce, pico, cucumber, grilled shrimp, guacamole, and salsa. It was seriously SO good. I want it again, right now! This was a totally successful day! I got a new Turvis Tumbler, which I have been wanting for a while! I also got a library card, and picked up some Paleo books! Such a nerd… I also got some gifts while we were out! 😉
IMG_1717IMG_1718IMG_1753
 I had a cedar plank salmon salad on kale for dinner. I have really been loving kale this week, especially after reading about the health benefits! After massaging the kale for 2-3 minutes with my fingers, I drizzled some EVO on top, along with some lime juice. I added carrots and an orange as well. This salad was awesome! Thanks to my wonderful hubs for making me salmon! Cedar plank is the BEST way to have Salmon.
IMG_1732IMG_1728
Thursday (Day 18)

Today was Tuna Salad day! I had been looking forward to this day all week! I LOVE this Tuna Salad, and it is SO easy to prepare. Here is what you have to do:
Open 2 cans solid white albacore tuna
Break up all of the large pieces
Chop 1 stick of celery, 6 grapes, 1 scallion.
Add these chopped ingredients to the tuna.
Cut a lime in half and squeeze bot portions into the mixture.
In a separate bowl, mash up 1 avocado.
Add the avocado to the tuna mixture.
Stir well!
Add salt/pepper!
 Serve on a bed of lettuce or in a lettuce wrap!
Enjoy!! 
IMG_1792IMG_1791 

Friday (Day 19)

I am a really lucky lady..I got to eat Shrimp Fajitas again today! We ate at Tacos and Tequilas and it was awesome! I was very impressed! These were some of the best fajitas I have ever had!!

IMG_1815 
IMG_1813IMG_1812That evening, Jared and I went to our friend’s Tiffany and Andy’s wedding. It was GORGEOUS! The weather was amazing, and the crowd was so much fun! Jared was able to eat some pulled pork with no sauce, and some grilled chicken! I had a big ole fruit cup with lots of blueberries! YUM! I packed dinner for us in case there was nothing for us to eat. We also had Lara Bars. What a fun night! We are so happy for them! They are going to just love marriage!
IMG_1833 
IMG_1836IMG_1859IMG_1860 

 
Saturday (Day 20)

Saturday morning we woke up early and had some yummy breakfast! I made a frittata that used 6 eggs, satueed kale, onions, garlic, and tomatoes. It was fabulous! We also had some avocado and berries!
IMG_1880

After breakfast we decided to go see The Great Gatsby! Yay!! We had been so looking forward to its’ movie release! It was GREAT! Really! It was so well done. I recommend everyone go see it!!photo 1

Sunday (Day 21)

Sunday, of course, was Mother’s Day! What a sweet day! Jared and I both have super amazing moms. They are both eating Paleo, so we decided to give them a healthy gift this year! We made some home-made trail mix! It contained cashews, walnuts, almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, dried blueberries, and dried cherries. This stuff tastes SO good…It is addicting! I made sure I didn’t make extra! 🙂

IMG_1749

We had a great time spending the day with Jared’s family. We grilled out, the boys played cricket, and the girls laid in the sun! It was amazing! I brought a big salad for lunch, which had blueberries, strawberries, avocado, kiwi, and radishes. We also had sweet potatoes, cauliflower mashed potatoes, and grilled salmon! My food was wonderful!photo 3 photo 2

Here are some more Mother’s Day pictures:IMG-22 IMG-21 IMG-20 IMG-19 IMG-15 IMG-14 IMG-12 IMG-11 IMG-10 IMG-8 IMG-6 IMG-4 IMG-3

Here are some more random photos of food I have prepared this week that all tasted so good! Paleo is fun and exciting, I think!

IMG_1667
IMG_1668IMG_1680IMG_1705IMG_1800IMG_1801IMG_1765

So now we are on WEEK 4! Isn’t that crazy! I was so nervous to begin this, and now I don’t even know why! It’s the best thing that ever happened to me! Well, that’s dramatic….But I do feel like a whole new person!

Unfortunately, my husband is out of town in Las Vegas (PUKE CITY) all week, so I will be cooking Paleo for 1. He is going to maintain his strict whole30 diet on his trip, he says! He also convinced his business partner to go Paleo, so that should make it much easier. I will be cooking very simple meals for myself this week since he is gone. I will probably have LOTS of soup and eggs, therefore I’m not going to post my meal plan or grocery list. It would be rather boring….

I will definitely post some pictures on Instagram though, as I have been. I’m sure everyone is getting tired of seeing my million food pictures a day! Haha! Sorry!! I think it is all so pretty! 🙂

I hope you guys have a really really super great week! I have planned a full week this week so that I will be busy all day every day and have NO time to think about missing Jared! Psh. Yeah right..Who am I kidding?! That will be impossible! But I am going to do my best to have a great week even though I won’t get to begin each morning and end each evening next to him. Wahhhhh.

I’ll be back soon!

XOXO

-EmEmSign

8 thoughts on “Whole30:Week 3!

  1. I just found your blog while searching paleo recipes on Pinterest, and I love it!! I’m starting Whole30 today and this is great info and great motivation to stick to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

