Whole30:Week 4

So, this past week has been crazy. When I say crazy, I mean CRAZY. Talk about non-stop, on the go, hopping around from place to place – that was me! Jared was in Las Vegas on business until Saturday evening. When he goes out of town, I book my days solid. I want to stay busy from the moment I wake up to the moment I lay my head down on my pillow, otherwise I will get bummed out because I miss him! So, that is just what I did. I was busy all week, treating myself and having fun with friends, and I also began my summer classes. All of these things are great, except it required a LOT of planning on my part as far as food goes. Just because I am on the go all the time, does not mean that I want to eat fast food while I’m running around. In fact, I refuse to eat fast food. I have always been this way, well, at least since I became a vegetarian, because fast food has nothing to offer me! Although, I do like Chickfila’s salads, and I heard they have got some new ones! I will have to try those! Anyway, back to the point, I had to plan out my meals very carefully and pack my food for days at a time and bring it with me in insulated lunchboxes with ice packs! I did it, successfully, and only had to eat out one time! And that was a treat with a friend, and boy was it yummy! I am going to post photos of my food this week, and elaborate where ‘tis needed.

One important fact: I love eggs. Jared loves eggs. We LOVE eggs. I would eat them every meal if I was able to! Holy moly! I also love sautéed veggies… 🙂 These are mushrooms and onions!

IMG_1942 IMG_1941

Going off of that last fun fact: I love frittatas! They are so fun and versatile! You can put ANYTHING in a frittata! And you can make it as big or as little as you want! This one has kale, tomatoes, peppers, broccoli, and garlic.

IMG_1960

So I already stated earlier, but I went to Red Lobster last week with my friend! I went and signed up for the mailing list real quick to see if they would send me a coupon (I love coupons! Ha!) and they sent me one for a free appetizer. I got some shrimp cocktail! It was great! I didn’t dip it in anything, and it was soooo yummy. IMG_1985

My main dish was garlic/butter grilled shrimp skewers, seasonal veggies, and broccoli. It was fab! IMG_1986

Mmmmm…More frittata. So stinkin’ good.

IMG_2030 IMG_2032

I cooked a whole lot of shrimp at the beginning of the week so that I would be able to toss them on my salads for a quick and easy protein source. It was great! I am doing it again this week! I got some yummy seasoning at WholeFoods to use this time! This is a shrimp salad on spinach, with a boiled egg and mango. Man……..Mango is AMAZING. Fruit is so good. How does it just grow and taste that good? God is so good.

IMG_2041

Here’s another shrimp salad! So easy and tasty, and it’s nice because the shrimp can be cold. Often times I do not have a microwave nearby!

IMG_2059

Oh hey look, there I am! I got new glasses this week! I can see clearly! Now the rain is gone! 🙂IMG_2074

Here’s an egg bake I did with kale. Basically I sautéed some kale and some cherry tomatoes, then made little holes in the kale where I could crack open two eggs. I cracked them open and let them sit for about 3 minutes. Then, I popped them in the oven at 400 for about 5 minutes so that they would cook through. It was great! This was totally an experiment but I LOVED it! I want to make it for Jared soon!

IMG_2080 IMG_2081

I got my nails did! What a treat! 🙂

IMG_2121

I spent the night at my Momma’s house one of the nights Jared was away. We woke up early and made a yummy Paleo breakfast: Scrambled eggs and berries! Can’t go wrong with that!

IMG_2132

WHOLE FOODS:HEAVEN. This place literally makes me so happy. I think everything in there is so beautiful. I’m not sure if it’s normal how much I love grocery stores. Not all grocery stores….I don’t get those same feelings when I’m in Walmart… 😛

IMG_2136

Another salad with shrimp. Do you guys notice a trend? I try one thing, love it, and then I’m hooked! I could eat this every day!

IMG_2143

I have had a wonderful week, but boy and I glad my husband is home. He is such an encouragement to me, and such a HUGE help day in and day out. I really really really appreciate him, and I try to let him know it all the time! He’s a really sweet guy, and surprised me with flowers when he got home on Saturday, and took me on a hot date! We had a blast just catching up and filling each other in on how our weeks went, and just lovin’ on each other. We had Chipotle for dinner (Paleo friendly, HOLLA!), went on a little shopping spree at one of my favorite stores, World Market, and then went to see Iron Man 3! It was awesome! I love date nights! Here are some photos from our date night! Can you tell I was happy he finally came home!? 🙂

IMG_2150IMG_2155IMG_2159 IMG_2160 IMG_2164 IMG_2169

It is Jared’s BIG birthday week! I have some special things planned, and I cannot wait to take pictures and blog about it next week! I think he is going to be a VERY happy guy!

So, today is Day 28 of our Whole30 challenge. You are probably wondering what is going to happen once we reach day 30!?!? Well, nothing is going to change! Seriously! We are having so much fun with this and feeling so good that we want to keep doing what we have been doing! Jared has lost 10 pounds, and I am going to weigh myself on Wednesday morning! I will let y’all know the results next week! But yes, we are feeling so awesome that we don’t want to fall back into our old ways. There is ONE surprise during Jared’s birthday week that will not be Paleo friendly, and he said he is okay with that. I won’t be eating it though: P I feel too happy right now making all these healthy decisions to put something that is not beneficial to my body in my mouth! BUT, maybe on MY birthday it will be worth it to me!

That is all I have for today’s post. I have not had time to make this elaborate because my week has been insane and I am already swamped with homework! YIKES!! I hope you guys have a stinkin’ fabulous week!!

I’ll be back soon!!

XOXO

Em

EmSign

One thought on “Whole30:Week 4

Leave a Reply

