J U N E

Man, I cannot believe it is June already. Christmas is going to be here before we know it! No not really, we’ve still got plenty of time; Jared and I checked yesterday and Christmas is 199 days away. I love Christmas time, but then I remember how brutally cold it is and then I don’t want it to come.

Anyway, life has been exciting over the past two weeks, but also very busy, and that’s why I haven’t posted a blog in two weeks. But, today I have some down time and Jared is watching some silly UFC fight, so I thought it was the perfect opportunity to do a post about what’s been going on!

Today marks day 49 of Paleo eating for the du Plooys. We have decided to call ourselves Paleans, and I am technically a Pescatarian Palean. People keep asking us if we are on a diet, and how long we plan on doing it, and it’s so hard to explain that it’s not a diet! It’s just a decision we have made to quit poisoning our bodies with processed foods and sugars! With that being said, we don’t ever plan on stopping. We will cheat here and there, if we are celebrating something very special, or if we are just really really craving something. So far, neither of us have had any cravings, really. I did, however, have my FIRST PALEO CHEAT last night! I just wanted to prove to myself that I COULD have sugar, and then go on with my life and continue eating Paleo. If this is something I seriously want to do forever, then I have to learn self-control and learn how to have a cheat once in a while and not feel guilty. Last night was WONDERFUL, and 100% guiltless! It made me very excited to see the difference in indulging in dessert when it is actually a rare occurrence, opposed to just one of the many sweet treats I have had during the week. I savored every bite, and didn’t feel a single ounce of regret, because I hadn’t had sugar in almost 50 days! Going Paleo has helped me so much, and it has been such a growing experience, personally. I am SO much happier!

So, we have tried a few new Paleo dishes recently. We made spaghetti! With zucchini noodles! It was amazing! I am not kidding! It tasted JUST like spaghetti to me! We bought a pre-made marinara that contained all natural ingredients, and NO sugar. Jared made the noodles, using the mandolin slicer. I added some onions and mushrooms to my sauce, and put some ground beef in Jared’s. Mmmmmmmm it was great. It felt like we were cheating!

IMG_2520 IMG_2525 IMG_2530 IMG_2531 IMG_2532 IMG_2533

Did you know that Moe’s is Paleo-friendly?! Well, they totally are! 🙂 IMG_2583 IMG_2584

My hubs grilled me some salmon a few times last week. I LOVE grilled salmon! And I love steamed broccoli. I would eat this every day if I could! I really need to broaden the span of fishies that I eat, but anything besides Salmon scares me. What’s that about!?! I think I’m scarred because on the honeymoon I ate Mahi-Mahi, and I swear it tasted like chicken in my mouth. It freaked me out!!

IMG_2593

I realized this week that frittata looks a lot like fruitcake. Haha! Seriously! I love eating it though, especially with avocado. It’s crazy how often we eat avocado these days…Before, I would have NEVER eaten avocado because it is so high in calories in fat. Paleo has taught me to see it from a completely different perspective, and now I hate when I can’t eat it, because I know my body LOVES it!

IMG_2598

I eat lots of salads during the week because I am never home and I don’t have a microwave to warm up soup or anything. This is my favorite salad. It’s just spinach, matchstick carrots, boiled shrimp, and grape tomatoes! I also love me some mango and raspberries! IMG_2606 IMG_2607 IMG_2608

Cantaloupe was on sale for .99 two weeks ago, so I bought two of them! I had fun chopping them up, and noticed the pieces looked a whole bunch of smiles! I love that! Fruit is so happy and beautiful!
IMG_2622

Jared and I went out for some Mexican, and I, of course, ordered my favorite thing:SHRIMP FAJITAS! These bad boys had spinach, onion, mushroom, AND peppers! They were awesome!! IMG_2633

Jared ordered “skinny” chicken tacos…Isn’t it SO cool that they offer those!?!?!?? America is making progress! IMG_2634 IMG_2635 IMG_2636 IMG_2638I lead a small group of 8th grade girls alongside my friend, Ashley. Ashley is getting MARRIED next weekend, so we thought it would be appropriate to have a small group bridal shower for her! It was a blast!! I am so excited for Ash and her new hubby, Chris. They are so great together!

IMG_2686

We had LOTS of non-paleo food, but I was sure to bring fruit too, so that I wouldn’t be tempted! It isn’t hard to say no anymore though, thankfully! 
IMG_2687 IMG_2688 IMG_2689 IMG_2690 This is my sweet girl Carolyn. She LOVES fruit, can you tell!?

IMG_2691

Oh man, I was lucky this week and got to enjoy some Ghengis Grill with my man! I LOVE that place! Chow Baby is better, of course, but we were near Ghengis. I got SOOOO many veggies! 🙂

IMG_2700

Produce:PrettyIMG_2709

Isn’t raw fish weird looking…..? I can’t believe some of you eat RAW fish. Y’all are NUTS. IMG_2722

My hubs cooked this bad boy for me on the grill, along with some zuc’s and mater’s! Perfect dinner! IMG_2733 So, I am currently taking summer classes. I have NEVER taken summer classes, but I changed my major my sophomore year and got a little behind, so I had no choice but to take summer classes this summer. So, I am taking 12 HOURS. That is 4 CLASSES. At ONE time. I am dying, y’all. Every day I go to school looking like this: IMG_2746

But, some days I pack ants on a log and it brightens my day! IMG_2749

And some days in-between classes, I go outside and lay in the grass and take naps and eat my lunch. Those things make my days at school much more enjoyable. 🙂 IMG_2767 IMG_2768 IMG_2769

ONE thing I do miss a little bit on Paleo is Starbuck’s Lattes. Some people on Paleo get them, but use Whole Fat milk because it is less processed. I don’t want to do that, though, because dairy and my stomach do not agree. I have found a way around this though, and I’ve started ordering tea! It is so yummy and relaxing! My tough guy husband orders iced Americano’s…..Brutal. So strong. So yuck. Ew. I can’t believe he enjoys those!!! It’s cause he’s so manly and tough… 😉 IMG_2781 IMG_2782 IMG_2783

I have been hearing lots about Chickfila’s new salads lately, and I finally tried one last week. I’m not going to lie, it was a total let down. I ordered the market salad, and I asked for boiled eggs instead of chicken. The boiled eggs were literally frozen, and it had to be like 1/10’th of an egg crumbled up…It looked like blue cheese. It was just weird! I would totally prefer my salads made at home! But I’m glad I can say I’ve tried it! Atleast it had blueberries…Yum!

IMG_2793

This weekend has been pretty slammed, but in a good way! We went to our friend’s Lauren and Jonathon’s rehearsal dinner on Friday at No Mas Cantina. It was so much fun! What a cool place!! IMG_2875 IMG_2877 And they served coffee after our meal….Holla!! IMG_2881

IMG_2885

Yesterday we made Paleo Banana/Blueberry bread! It was awesome! And SOOOO incredibly easy to make! I just cracked 5 eggs into my Vitamix, added 2 and a half bananas, and blended it. I added a dash of cinnamon as well. Then I poured the mixture into my bread dish which I lined with parchment paper. Then, I added some bluerries and topped it with more cinnamon. I baked it at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, and that’s it!! It was fabulous! I used frozen blueberries, though, and I think it would have been MUCH better with fresh! We will do that next time! IMG_2899

IMG_2900 IMG_2901

Ahhhh! I got a new purse! I never buy new purses, I usually just go shopping in my closet. But, I saw this bad boy and I couldn’t say no!!! I was afraid Jared would hate it because he hates ANYTHING with spikes on it, and that is so in style now…But he actually likes this! Yay! IMG_2917

Yesterday was Lauren and Jonathan’s big day! It was such a gorgeous wedding, held at the Atlanta Contemporary Arts Center. I took some photos of some of the decorations…You will die when you see them! So adorable!
IMG_2918 IMG_2928 IMG_2938 IMG_2939 IMG_2940 IMG_2941 IMG_2942 IMG_2951 IMG_2955

And they had a FOOD TRUCK cater the wedding! Who does that?!?!?!?! No one!! How awesome!! 
IMG_2962

Okay, so after the wedding is when my first ever Paleo cheat occurred. This was so much fun! 🙂 We went to Cafe Intermezzo, which was the first stop on mine and Jared’s first date! He totally surprised me, and couldn’t have picked a more perfect spot!IMG_2970 IMG_2971 There she is, the Oreo Cheesecake beauty. I did split it with Jared, because I probably would have felt sick if I ate the whole thing! I also ordered some coffee to go along with it. It was amazing! IMG_2972

And now it’s Sunday. Aw. That means the weekend is almost over. Today has been great though. We went to church and then grocery shopped, and have been straight chillin’ since! That never happens. It has been heavenly!

I don’t have much more to add to this post…….This week/weekend is going to be super fun though, and I am already looking forward to writing about it!!

PS. Don’t forget to get your dads father’s day prezzies! Father’s Day is one week from today!

Talk to you guys soon!

XOXO

-EmEmSign

5 thoughts on “J U N E

  1. you guys are so cute! I love all of your glasses. I also made zoodles (zucchini+noodles) with meatballs last night. Your food pictures have me drooling at my screen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

