Chocolate Blueberry Loaf

ChocolateBread-1

Last week I posted a recipe for our Paleo Banana Bread. This recipe is very similar to last week’s, however, this time I am sharing a chocolate banana bread with you! This was very very yummy! It tasted like chocolate cake to me!! But, remember, if you are doing the Whole30, this is not approved, because it is a “treat-like” food. Just finish up your 30 days and then make it!! It will taste sooo good and sweet after 30 days of nothing sweet!

A friend of mine made the banana bread last week and said that her girl’s didn’t think it was sweet enough. Feel free to add honey to the recipe is you are looking to make it sweeter! Jared and I think it’s super sweet, but I guess it’s just a preference thing!

ChocolateBread-3 ChocolateBread-4

Anyway, this recipe is super easy! I hope you try it! Here’s what you need:

  • 3 medium sized bananas
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 T Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1.5 T Coconut Flour
  • 1 C Fresh Blueberries

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Blend the bananas, eggs, cocoa, vanilla, and coconut flour in a blender or food processor. Fold in the blueberries. (Coat the blueberries in coconut flour beforehand to keep them from sinking to the bottom.) Pour the mixture into a lined bread pan. I’m sure you could make muffins as well. Bake for 35-40 minutes, depending on the size of your bananas and your oven. Keep an eye on the bread because yours may cook more quickly or it may take longer. Cut a small slit in the center to see if the middle is cooked through. Honestly, I should have cooked mine longer, but the outside of the bread tricked me into thinking it was done!! It was still awesome though! Just a little TOO moist. 🙂 But don’t worry, we still ate all of it, and we were sad when it was all gone!

ChocolateBread-5 ChocolateBread-6 I ordered my coconut flour and my vanilla extract online at iHerb.com. If you want to make an iHerb purchase, you can save $10 on an order of $40 or more by using this code: SSM900.ChocolateBread-8

Other additions that might be nice for this bread:

Coconut Flakes (Jared’s idea)

Honey drizzle on top (If you are wanting it to be super sweet!)

I do not have exact nutritional counts for this bread, but I believe it is about 450 calories for half of the loaf.  When eating Paleo, you are not supposed to count calories, because if you are listening to your body and giving it what it needs, you will not eat too much. However, I am still dealing with giving up calorie counting. It has been a part of my life for the last 4 years, and it’s been hard for me to part with it!! I eat about 1500 calories a day, and I try to make the majority of my calories come from healthy fats, protein, and vegetables. I don’t eat many nuts, because they don’t do much for me. Jared eats lots, though! I try to eat 1-2 servings of fruit a day. I’ve had to make that rule for myself, otherwise I could eat a whole bag of grapes in  a day, because they are just SO good! 😛

With all of that being said, do what works for you!! If making this dish is going to serve as a “stumbling block” for you and cause you to desire unhealthy desserts all over again, then don’t make it! This whole Paleo thing is a LIFESTYLE, and if you really plan on doing for the rest of your life, you need to be real with yourself and find what works! A lot of people get hung up on the whole coffee creamer thing. Paleo does not allow coffee creamer because it is dairy based. On the contrary, you can use coconut milk as creamer. BUT, if coffee creamer is the one thing keeping you from doing the Whole30 or eating Paleo, then keep the creamer and go all out on everything else. Creamer is NOT what’s making you overweight, making you sleep poorly, giving you headaches, bloating, fatigue, or autoimmune diseases, I’m sure!! Look at the big picture!! And stop waiting!! QUIT SEARCHING FOR EXCUSES! Just do it already! Prove to yourself that you have self-discipline, that you mean what you say, and that FOOD has no POWER over you!! (Ok, I’ll get off my soapbox….)

Have a happy Sunday!

XOXO

-Em

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Blueberry Loaf

  1. I was looking for Paleo recipes on Pinterest yesterday and somehow ended up on your blog. I haven’t left yet! Haha. I have read every single post, liked you on Facebook, and started following you on Instagram. You are so much fun and a total inspiration! Thank you for taking the time to write.

Leave a Reply

