Paleo Chicken Fried Rice

Confession time: Jared and I used to LOVE going to this little hole-in-the-wall Asian place in Suwannee called Litte Tokyo. Literally, it was the sketchiest place ever, but we LOVED their fried rice, and especially loved their “yum yum sauce.” We would go and every time we would leave feeling sick! We would say things like “Why did we decide to go there?!” or “We should have gotten a to-go box!!” or “I feel sick. It’s nap time.” Literally, it was just so much rice, and so much of that sauce, which is of course mayonnaise and sugar based. Even though we always left feeling sick, we would still stop in occasionally. Isn’t it crazy how we do that to ourselves?!

Anyway, I said all that to say that we love fried rice, and we are very excited about our Paleo Fried Rice we created the other night! It was incredible! There is NO need to ever go back to eating the other stuff that makes us feel bloated and sick! This recipe is VERY versatile! You can add pineapple, take away the curry powder and add coconut aminos. You can subsitute shrimp for the chicken! The options are endless!!
Cauli-2 We decided to make Curry Chicken Fried Rice, because we love curry!!

Here’s what you need to make this dish:

1 Head Cauliflower

2 Chicken Breasts

Curry Powder

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

5 Cloves Garlic

3 Cups Frozen Vegetables – Broccoli, water chestnuts, snow peas, carrots, red pepper (Or fresh — We bought a huge bag of frozen veggies and just used a small portion)
Cauli-3Many people use their Vitamix to make the cauliflower rice, but we weren’t confident that we completely understood how to do it. Therefore, we used the mandolin slicer to make our rice. If you don’t have one of these, you can chop it up very finely so that it looks like rice.

Sautee the rice in some EVO along with your minced garlic. Sauté it until it feels soft like rice. It took about 8 minutes for us. In a separate pan, sauté your frozen veggies. Chop up the chicken breasts into small pieces and sauté them in ANOTHER pan, with 2 tbsp of curry powder and 1 tsp of salt.

Once the rice is soft, add 1 Tbsp of curry powder and mix it in. Next, add the vegetables to the rice. Mix well. Finally, add the cooked chicken to the rice. That’s it! All done! So easy! So delcious!! This makes 4 servings!
Cauli-5We both LOVED this dish, so much so that we are making it AGAIN this week! It tastes just like regular fried rice to us! The only difference, we didn’t feel sick at all after eating a huge plate of it!!! Heck ya! Sounds like a no brainer to me!

If you try it out, let me know how it goes!! I can’t wait to hear from you!

Be back soon!

XOXO

-EM
EmSign

11 thoughts on “Paleo Chicken Fried Rice

  1. Em, thanks for sharing this recipe. This is the first Paleo recipe I have tried, and I was really pleased with the results. We love fried rice too, but hate the greasiness. Your post came on such a great night, as I was searching for something to do with the head of cauliflower in my fridge! Yummy! 🙂

  2. I make this myself and I use the coconut amino and shrimp in mine since I was addicted to shrimp fried rice. Love China Moon in Vinings. Since kicking grains to the curb I missed it like you would not believe. Maybe you all would since you love fried rice too. I make mine in my Vitamix. I chop my cauliflower into medium size pieces. If I use a whole head of cauliflower I make the “rice” in three batches in the blender otherwise you get big textured “rice” which is OK I like finer rice. So chop and add to Vitamix I do about a handful and a half of cauliflower blend it using just the “ON” switch. I don’t add more speed to it or it will get creamy then you have cauliflower “grits” which is awesome btw. I added a bit savoy cabbage and a good spalsh of sesame oil to this “rice” OMGosh I had to make myself stop eating it, LOL

Leave a Reply

