Whole 30 Challenge:::Week Three!

Holy guacamole! We have completed week 3 of the Whole30! Well, almost! Tomorrow is day 21. Things are going great! Jared and I are having a blast trying new recipes, and we are doing just fine without our typical cheat meals! I have been hearing some amazing success stories already from the other people partaking in the Whole30 this month, and I am DYING to share them! However, I am going to wait until the very end of the challenge to share all of the stories with you! I am hoping that once you hear about the life change these people are experiencing, you will be sold!! We are going to do another challenge in January, so get ready!!

So, I am absolutely pooped as I am writing this!! It’s been a crazy crazy weekend, but I still want to update you all on how our Whole30 is going. With that being said, this will be a pretty brief post! Raise your hand if you’re depressed that tomorrow is Monday!! No, just kidding, put your hands down!! Let’s be positive! Every day is GREAT, even if we do have to wake up early and go to work, and in my case, intern full time with no pay! 😛 Haha! Atleast we get to eat food while doing it! Right??

Okay, so here we go! This week, we made curry! We followed the recipe here and added 1 can of coconut milk to the end, and 3 tbsp of curry powder. We put it on a bed of cauliflower rice. This was AWESOME, and so easy! We are making it again this week, except we are using the crock pot! This dish has corn in it, but corn is not allowed on Paleo. We messed up and bought the wrong bag of frozen veggies on accident…So just know that you need to buy the frozen veggies that doesn’t have corn! 🙂
IMG_4013This cauliflower rice has become a staple in our diet. It’s so easy, and also filling!!  If you haven’t tried it yet, just DO IT! Don’t be scared! I know you will love it! This cauli rice was plain, opposed to our regular fried rice. We just sautéed the cauliflower with salt,  fresh garlic and extra virgin olive oil for about 10 minutes.
IMG_4015 This is NOT food related, but still worth sharing, I think! I bought my first Christmas tree of the season! Isn’t it PRECIOUS!??! I am so happy the holidays are just around the corner! We are already brainstorming about what Paleo dishes we will bring to Thanksgiving and Christmas! This will be the 1st Thanksgiving in 5 years that I will be eating meat, and I am PUMPED!! IMG_4032IMG_4038 We went to a wedding last week that was totally Paleo-friendly!! I didn’t take a picture of the dinner, but the horderves were AWESOME! Grilled veggies, and deli meat! Heck ya! That never happens! 😛 IMG_4045 IMG_4046 IMG_4047 IMG_4049 Jared was crushed because we had to miss the Patriots game for the wedding, so he was glued to his phone the whole night! Haha! IMG_4054 IMG_4059 There was a live band that was RIDICULOUS! We were breaking it down on the dance floor. 😛IMG_4060 We made bacon egg muffins again this week. This time we added even MORE spinach; I just love it! IMG_4074 We went to dinner with my parents and ordered Texas Fajitas! They were on point! Chicken, shrimp, AND steak! You can’t go wrong with that combo! IMG_4087 My little brother rode with us to dinner. What a cutie! IMG_4088 IMG_4091 We made sweet potato hash, because it’s our favorite breakfast ever. I haven’t hear from anyone that didn’t like this dish. You can find the recipe here. We also enjoyed some amazing pumpkin spice coffee from Trader Joes this week. We are definitely feeling festive! IMG_4098 This soup is the newest addition to my list of favorite Paleo meals. Perhaps one reason it made it on the list is because it is so dang easy to make. But also, it tastes delicious!! Check it out here.IMG_4104 Woo hoo!! This week we went to Chow Baby!! It’s on of my favorite restaurants on the planet! Even before we converted to Paleo-ism, I was obsessed with this place!  Now that we eat Paleo, it’s moved even higher up on my list of favorite dinner spots. I love creating my own stir fry!!  PS. I just made up the term Paleo-ism. 😛 IMG_4115 Here’s my leftover curry. Yum yum yum.IMG_4123 Check out my little brother! He’s a football star!!! IMG_4132We tried a new recipe this week: Zucchini Fritters!! I loved these little guys! They were pretty easy to make, too!! I want to make these again soon!! The recipe can be found here.IMG_4160 IMG_4162 I’ve been jamming to Mariah Carey Christmas Pandora station all week. And I tried sunflower seed butter for the first time this week, too! It is great!!! Compared to almond butter, it tastes WAY more like peanut butter! Jared prefers almond butter because he thinks its sweeter, but I like this stuff more! IMG_4173My husband….What a weirdo! 😛

IMG_4191

We made bacon wrapped chicken on Friday night with our friends Sean and Crystal. It was so so so good! I can’t believe I’ve never tried that before! We all wanted more once it was all gone! 😛
IMG_4197

More festive things: I am obsessed with Glade’s pumpkin spice candles. They smell so strong and wonderful! I am also obsessed with flowers, and muted purple nail polish! 
IMG_4226

We shot a beautiful wedding yesterday, and all of the bridesmaids wore cowboy boots. It loved it! We will be sharing those photos in the near future!
IMG_4287And that brings us to today!! We are just lounging right now before we head out for an engagement session this evening! We are going to throw some chili in the crockpot before bed to eat later this week, and we are going to grill some chicken too! Yum yum.

I hope you guys have had a great weekend!! And for those of you doing the challenge, stay strong!! We are so close to day 30!

Talk to you all soon!

XOXO

-Em

EmSign

10 thoughts on “Whole 30 Challenge:::Week Three!

      1. I’d love too!! I love meeting other paleo people. Sometimes I go off my restrictions because I need to maintain my sanity, but I do my best to stick with it. I basically follow a paleo low FODMAP version (no onions, garlic, broccoli, cauliflower- to name a few vegetables) and try to do no sugar or fruit except apples. And limit my nut intake.

      2. I have read about that!! What made you decided to follow that plan? I have actually cut out fruit for a while (doing the 21DSD) because I had become addicted to it without realizing it, and it was hurting my stomach. No onions or garlic would be tough for me!! Haha

      3. I’ve had a lot of ongoing stomach and intestinal issues so I decided to cut out high FODMAP vegetables to see if that helped, which it definitely did but not 100%. When I cut out fruit though, I become mostly pain and problem free which is wonderful. I love sweet things, so it’s hard sometimes.

      4. I gotcha. It’s crazy how our bodies react to certain things. At one point, I developed an egg intolerance and they were making me SO sick — serious stomach pains. I cut them about for about 2 months and then slowly incorporated them and now I can eat them again, praise the Lord!! I love sweet things too….especially grapes. Mmmmm

  1. I am so inspired by your blog and recipes and am going to be pinning some of them to my Whole 30 board on Pinterest. My husband and I are both Seniors in college, Christians and newlyweds of almost 3 months! I can’t wait to try the sweet potato hash! Thanks for being so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

