Whole30 Day 28

It’s dark and gloomy outside and I kind of like it! There is something so relaxing about an overcast day. It makes me want to curl up with a cup of coffee and read all day. I will probably end up doing that. I went to the library yesterday and checked out a whole bag of books that I am eager to begin reading. I had planned on staying home yesterday and being super productive, but that didn’t exactly happen. I decided to “run out” to ONE store to make a few returns. Well, I passed about five thrift stores along the way that I just HAD to stop in. I can’t stop dreaming up how I will decorate my classroom and all of the things I want/need to buy for it. I have collected quite a few things so far, but yesterday I scored a big, huge filing cabinet for $5.00! You can’t be that! I am going to find a tutorial on Pinterest and make it look really pretty. I ended up really enjoying myself yesterday. I’ve always considered myself to be a pretty social “people-person” but every once in a while it is just nice to spend some time alone and go at your own pace and think to yourself. That’s exactly what I did. I spent hours in thrift stores going up and down all of the isles just thinking to myself; Thinking about my first year of teaching, thinking about relationships, thinking about our upcoming trip, thinking about the last episode of Suits that we watched, and a million other things. I love engaging in conversation with others, but yesterday was a nice break! I truly enjoyed myself! And I got so wrapped up in my thoughts that I hardly spent any money! That’s a good thing, right?! 😛

It was pretty hard to crawl out of bed yesterday because we were exhausted from our rafting trip. I knew Zucchini Fritters were on the menu for breakfast, so that was a huge motivator for getting out of bed! I love these things!! BUT, we were out of coconut flour so I used arrowroot powder instead….Yeah….They weren’t quite the same. They were a little….chewier?  And I don’t know what I was thinking, I really don’t, but I added TWO spoonfuls of minced garlic to the zucchini fritters. Wow. Jared goes, “HOLY, GARLIC! That burned my throat!” I thought surely he was exaggerating, but he wasn’t! Haha! We still ate them but we had some INTENSE breath by the third bite!
Whole30-1-2 Whole30-2-2 I didn’t take pictures of my lunch but I had some amazing leftover Paleo Greek Anitpasto that my mom made. This stuff is SOOOO good!!!

Later that evening we had some company. I met this family when I was a sophomore in college. I remember our first encounter so perfectly. I told them I was going to school to be a nurse and that I was on a “dating fast”. I remember telling them I was just fed up with having meals with guys who I knew I was NOT going to marry. I was ready to be intentional. I began babysitting for them in June. My “dating fast” ended on August first. Jared had contacted me over that summer and made it clear that he wanted to pursue me. I made it clear to him that I wasn’t dating anyone! On August 1st he told me he wanted to take me on a date. We had our first date on August 7th. I remember telling Ronda and Franco (the parents of the girls I babysit) all about Jared and Ronda was literally jumping up and down in the kitchen because she was so excited!! I remember it like it was yesterday!! Anyway, this family has become a HUGE part of our lives!! I have been babysitting their girls for the last three years and it is going to be coming to an end very soon. July 20th will be my last day of babysitting ever! I am totally ready for this new season of life, but it’s also hard to imagine not putting these kiddos to bed and performing the nightly routine. I will miss hearing their sweet prayers every night. Anyway, these people are very special and they came over for dinner last night. We had a great time! The girls loved visiting “Auntie Em and Prince Jared’s” house! Whole30-1 Whole30-2 Whole30-3 Whole30-4

Here is a picture of us from 2012! They have grown SO much! girls-1Whole30-5 Whole30-6 Whole30-7 We had steak and fries for dinner. You can’t go wrong with that combo!! Whole30-8 Whole30-9

And that’s all I’ve got for Day 28!! I’ll be back soon!

XOXO

-EM

EmSign

Leave a Reply

