My 20 Favorite Things (At the Moment)

Being that Christmas is right around the corner and the shopping has already begun, I thought it would be an appropriate time to write about my favorite things so that you can get some ideas of presents for your friends and family! You know how sometimes you debate buying something in the store because you aren’t sure if you will actually use it or if you will even like it? Well, to me, one of the best things in the world is when I do buy one of those things, and I end up LOVING it and using it nearly every day!!  I believe that when those type of purchases are made, we should share them with the world! If these things have made my life more enjoyable, maybe someone else will love them just as much as me!! Maybe?!

So my hope is that you guys will enjoy this post, try a few of these items out, and then fall in love just as I did! THEN, I would love it if you would tell me what your favorite things are! Let’s just share the love! 🙂  So, here we go! These are my favorite favorite things that I own! I didn’t include any technology because I don’t get excited about technology and I could live without all of it, apart from my phone! (Which is shattered into a million pieces and currently missing its home button………..Yep…It fell off! Haha!)

My favorite things:

  1. Lip Therapy Vaseline 1.79

lip therapySo I kept seeing this stuff on Pinterest over and over again and finally took the time to go out and buy it. Boy am I glad I did! This stuff makes your lips SO SO SO soft! Seriously! I put it on before bed every night after I wash my face and in the mornings when I’m putting on my makeup. No more dry lips!! Jared even loves it too and sometimes asks me where mine is! It rocks! It is pretty hard to locate in stores…Target keeps theirs in the medicine sections next to the Carmex and other lip medication. You can also find it at CVS! I have tried all of the flavors and loved them!

2. Thirty One Zipper Tote $35Zip-Top-Organizing-Utility-Tote-Citrus-Medallion
When I got my first teaching job, I had already heard ALL about these Thirty-One bags, but I didn’t quite understand the obsession. Well, now I do. I use this bag every single day. It is amazing! I can hold so many papers along with binders and notebooks and other random things. It also has little pouches on the sides that you can use to store your cell phone or keys. Probably my favorite things about this bag are the elastic cup holders on each side. I place my coffee mug on one end, and my Tervis on the other. It is FABULOUS! I was able to purchase this bag and then get another huge bag for $10! Thirty One is always running some type of special like that.

3. Mac Brushes $TooMuch2013-04.5-Eye-Makeup-Brushes

Okay, so these items are a serious investment. I am not kidding. It hurt a little, well maybe a lot, when I purchased these babies. My sweet hubby actually bought these for me as a graduation present, and he nearly fell over when he saw the grand total. So, I totally agree that they are WAY overpriced, BUT, they are amazing. They are hands down the best makeup brushes I have ever purchased, and I am hoping I never have to buy makeup brushes again! Supposedly if you clean them often, which I do, then they will last a lonnnnng time. If you love makeup, then I would say these are worth the money! If you don’t care about your makeup, then by no means would I recommend buying Mac brushes!

4. Tervis Tumbler $19.99tervis-tumbler-drinkware-16-oz-fashion-wrap-tumblers

I bought my first Tervis Tumbler about a year ago and I can’t imagine my life without it! I am not exaggerating either. I use this bad boy every day. It goes every where with me! I recently purchased my second Tervis so that I don’t have to wash my other one quite as much. I’m not quite sure what it is that makes this cup so amazing, but I love it!! It fits perfectly in my cupholder, it doesn’t sweat (which ROCKS), and it holds a lot of water!! If you have a Parsons store nearby, they usually send out $5.00 off coupons and they sell Tervis cups there. I end up getting mine for $15.00 after the coupon!

5. Shower Cap $2.9920619_Pink+Dots+Shower+Cap

Shower caps are the best. I don’t know how anyone could get things done without owning a shower cap. Who has time to wash their hair every time they step in the shower?! Not me! I just throw my afro up into a shower cap and then pull the shower cap off when I get out, and my hair is good to go!! Shower caps are a huge time saver, if you don’t have greasy hair and can go a few days without washing it! TJ Maxx always carries cute ones!

5. Infinity Scarves $15.00ishinfinity-scarf-1

Man oh man…I was given my first infinity scarf about 4 years ago when my friend Kanani brought one home from Italy after her study abroad trip. It was love at first sight. Truly, infinity scarves are so much warmer than regular scarves. They are also SO much easier to wear! They don’t unwrap or fall off. I believe that an infinity scarf can pull any outfit together! Last year on Black Friday, Old Navy was selling their infinity scarves for $9.99! I only purchased one, but I wish I would have bought more!

6. Large Leather Journal $19.99ish

2565027952_ca0f0712f7_z

This journal is great because it is lined, has large pages, and it super soft! I wish I could tell you the make, but I am unsure!! I found it at TJ Maxx about a year ago! I love the feeling of the cover. It is so pretty that it makes me want to write in it every time I catch a glimpse of it. I love to use it during my quiet times in the morning, and also to write down my goals and any thoughts about what going on in life. It is really durable so I can toss it in my purse or my Thirty One bag and it doesn’t get damaged. Jared likes those teeny tiny Moleskine journals, but I love the big ‘uns!

7. Coffee Maker

hamilton-beach-red-digital-coffeemaker

So, we don’t have a fancy coffee maker, but gosh do I love it! We make coffee every single morning and it has been so faithful to us! Not one morning has it failed us! We have had it for about 2 1/2 years now, and it’s still going strong! We are actually looking to buy a new one now, but only because our coffee maker is red and we (I mean, I) don’t think it goes with our new kitchen very well. This is an awesome coffee maker though!

8. Quaker Oatmeal $3.99quaker_old_fashioned_oats_-_walmart_oatmeal_cooking_instructions_old_fashioned_oatmeal_cooking_instructions_old_fashioned

There’s just nothing like it. It’s one of my favorite meals on the planet. If my husband didn’t think it tasted like a big lump of glue, we would probably eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Here’s my recipe: 1/2 c. oatmeal, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup almond milk, and 1/2 cup water…………I toss in my cinnamon, vanilla, and raisins once it’s done. It’s heaven! I promise! Couldn’t live without it!

9.  Travel Mug from Target $22.9914726766

THIS IS THE BEST COFFEE MUG ON THE PLANET. I just love it! My friend Ashley gave me one as a Christmas gifts a few years ago, and I haven’t been able to use another coffee mug since! Jared bought me another one last Christmas so that I wouldn’t have to use the same one every day. They are pricey, for a coffee mug, but they are so great! They don’t spill….at all…ever!! My coffee mug tips out of my cup holder in my car nearly every day! Fear no more!!! It won’t spill! It doesn’t matter if it falls, because it won’t leak! The only way liquid will come out of this coffee mug is if you press the little button to release liquid. It’s amazing. Another reason I love it is because it’s aluminum and it keeps my coffee hot for like 4 hours! Love it!

10. Silky Pajama’s from Aerie 

bf743ef9e8831919787cb3d4bdbdd239

Silky PJ’s are the best. They don’t make you hot. They feel like heaven when you put them on after a nice hot bath. They are adorable, yet so so comfy. I don’t have anything else to say besides these are my favorite PJ’s ever and I hope they never ever get a tear! 🙂

11. Electric Blanket $40ish

103754-300x300-Electric_blanketMy mom is a goddess. She bought me my very own electric blanket after Jared and I got married since I no longer lived at home and could use my mom’s electric blanket. There is nothing quite like the feeling of coming in from the freezing cold and snuggling up under an electric blanket. So warm. So cozy. Just heaven. I love my electric blanket! I don’t sleep with it, because I’m sure Jared and I would sweat to death, but I love snuggling up on the couch with it!

12. Arm and Hammer Whitening Toothpaste $2.99


300

So this isn’t a very “fun” item, but it’s definitely one of my “cannot live without” items. This is the only toothpaste I will buy. I swear no other toothpaste whitens like this stuff! Jared thought it was disgusting when he first started using it, because it tastes like baking soda, but then his teeth started to get whiter and he didn’t mind the taste anymore! 😛 I don’t think it tastes bad at all. It’s the best toothpaste evvvvvver.

13. Bath and Body Works Lemon Pomegranate Cream Body Lotion $9.99

71HQbE7kGQL._SY355_

Probably my favorite lotion of all time. I don’t usually buy lotion because I hardly use it and it usually ends up in some box with a bunch of other lotion that is never used, but this stuff is different. It smells SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. I keep it at school next to my desk and I put it on my hands all day long. Try it! You will love it!

14. Crock Pot $29.99

crock

Woah. Talk about simplicity. There is nothing like throwing a bunch of junk into the crockpot and coming home to an incredible meal. Every one has a crock pot, so this one shouldn’t come as a surprise, but I am really thankful for my Crock Pot. I do not think we would be able to eat home cooked meals as often as we do if it weren’t for the Crock Pot! Just brilliant!

15. Michael Kors Watch 

ogtyxf-i

This specific Michael Kors Watch. It’s my favorite of all time. I have a silver one that I rarely use. I have a fake Rose Gold one from China Town that I rarely wear. There is just something about this one. I struggle to go one day without wearing it. It’s just my baby! Jared got it for me for my 21st birthday and it’s probably one of the best gifts I’ve ever received! I love it!!!!

16. Apples .79 Lb

pink-lady

Yep. Apples. Life changing. I love me some apples. I eat one every single day. Pink Ladies are my favorites, but I love Gala, Granny Smith, Jazz, Braeburn, you name it! But if it’s a soft apple, forget about it! I only want nice crisp, juicy apples! Now we’re talking! I am an apple lover! What a great, cheap snack! I’m sure glad they are sold in stores year-round!

17. Fuzzy Socks $4.99

bd5959d486_medium

Have fuzzy socks been around forever? It seems like they became really popular about 5 years ago. Maybe I’m wrong?! I don’t know, but I am obsessed with fuzzy socks. They are my go-to socks when I hop out of the shower. Especially now that we have hardwoods, fuzzy socks are on my feet at all times. Again, I am a huge fan of being cozy! Hence the electric blanket and silky pj’s!

19. NYX Lip Butter $4.99

NYX-Butter-Gloss-Product-Shot

Yes. Yes. Yes!! I have already mentioned this stuff in a previous post, but it’s my favorite lip gloss on the planet! Put some of the lip therapy on your lips first, then top it off with this lip butter!! Voila! You are good to go! It makes your lips so soft and smooth, and the color is great too! One of my favorite things about this gloss it the price! It’s $4.99 at Ulta, and typically it’s buy one get one free! Heck yeah!!

20. Cerave Face Lotion (AM & PM) $14.99

CeraVe-AM-Facial-Moisturizing-Lotion-SPF-30-1-1024x729

Again, this isn’t a very exciting item, but it is very important. I have never been able to use any type of lotion of my face without my face breaking out. This stuff is the BOMB! I use the Cerave AM lotion in the morning after I wash my face and before I apply my makeup. Then, I use the PM lotion before bed after I’ve washed all my makeup off. It doesn’t make my skin oily AT ALL! That’s probably the best part! It’s sort of pricey, in my opinion, but it lasts quite a while and it is sooooo good for your skin!

So there you have it! Those are my top 20 things (at the moment) that I feel I could not live without! I use ALL of these things either on a weekly, if not daily, basis!! Now tell me, what are your favorite things!?!?

Be back soon with a fun holiday post!

XOXO

-Em

EmSign

Leave a Reply

