Nashville

{Before you being reading: Sorry that the pictures in this post are so huge. WordPress used to have a way to re-size the photos in your post, but it seems that feature has disappeared!! Sorry, guys!!}

 This past weekend we took a road trip to Nashville with our friends Luke and Lyndsey. Friday was the last day of school for Lyndsey and me, and it was also Jared’s birthday! We wanted to find a way to celebrate these exciting events and to get away for a bit! We had a wonderful time in Nashville. We ate lots of food and saw some pretty interesting sights (and people)! Unfortunately, I got sick right at the end of the week last week, and it carried over to the weekend. My eyes were pouring the entire trip, and my nose demanded to be blown 24/7! I made the most of it though, and tried to enjoy every minute of our trip! We may need to go back in the fall to explore Nashville when I’m feeling better! I do feel a little robbed of my experience due to feeling like poo poo the entire time! Anyway, here are some photos from our trip!

On the way, we stopped at a Racetrac and got some snacks! I got my favorite (vanilla cappuccino). Yum yum yum!  We went directly to breakfast upon arrival. We had read great things about Biscuit Love, so we decided to give it a shot. It was the cutest place!!     There was a pretty long line, but it moved quickly!    Lyndsey and I took a bathroom mirror selfie while we were waiting. 😛           I ordered something that came with a variety of things, like grits, eggs, bacon, and a biscuit. The best thing was the bacon!! It was coated in brown sugar and it was really thick and chewy! Other than that, the other things weren’t anything special. Jared ate my grits because they were really plain. Keep in mind that I am a major foodie, and I have high expectations of the food we eat on trips. I don’t think my meal lived up to the Yelp reviews!   Jared enjoyed his meal. It was some type of chicken biscuit. It was massive!!     After we checked in to our hotel, we walked to a park across the street where they were having a food truck festival with live music. There was a grilled cheese food truck that I really wanted to try! I will have to add that to my bucket list! 🙂    We rented some bikes so that we could cover ground quickly! We love these bikes!! We have rented them in Chattanooga before and we just think they are the coolest things!!   Cutie patootie!             It was blazing outside, so we stopped for a coffee break at some place (can’t remember the name). I ordered a frappaccino type of drink. It was pretty tasty!     Next we headed to Broadway Street. We went into this place that creates “Goo Goo’s.” I had never heard of these things, but supposedly they are really famous. We tried a sample and they were deeeeelish!!! One of the best things I ate on the trip for sure! It had just been baked, so the peanut butter was warm and gooey.         We went into another candy factory that was HUGE!!! Check out all of this candy on the wall!   We got to sample the praline’s too. Pralines are one of my favorite sweet treats!   Look at these bad boys! They are white chocolate covered rice krispy treats! They looked amazing!   We walked along the bridge and the view was so pretty.        Jared bought a new hat! Just kidding. He didn’t buy it, thank goodness! I’m not a fan of cowboy hats…Haha!   Bridge pictures!

    Mirror pictures with Luke and Lyndsey!   We headed back to the hotel to freshen up for dinner. We were soo sweaty after riding our bikes! We headed to Pharmacy Burger for dinner. We waited for an hour and a half! It was pretty crazy!!! The burgers were okay………………but I think The Vortex has them beat BIG TIME! 😛 We all agreed the food wasn’t worth the wait. BUT, we had a fun time chatting and sitting out in the garden while we waited!             I ordered a cheese burger and sweet potato fries. Again, it was good, but nothing special!  After dinner, we headed to find some live music. It was quite a challenge finding a good spot, but eventually we did!

The next morning, we went to Jackson’s for breakfast. It was pretty good. Lyndsey ordered french toast and it looked great!! This was her first time eating french toast! She is now a fan! 🙂 Yes, it was FRIED french toast! Who knew such a thing even existed?!     Jared and I shared some biscuits and gravy.Both of us also ordered the “Big Ben” which was eggs, potatoes, bacon, and ham.     We did a little shopping after breakfast. I loved this area. It was so calm compared to Broadway Street.     We found a little french bakery after breakfast and I HAD to get a chocolate macaroon. This was only my second macaroon EVER, and it was HEAVEN!!!!!!! Seriously. This was the best thing I ate in Nashville! Haha!       After shopping for a while, we headed to Jeni’s for a sweet treat! This location didn’t have as many flavors as the location we typically go to. I ordered a scoop of almond brittle and a scoop of dark chocolate. Yum yum yum!!      After Jeni’s we decided to head back because we were all pooped, and we had a 4 hour drive ahead of us! We stopped by Lyndsey’s parents house on the way home for dinner. They only live about 2 hours from Nashville! It was nice to break up the drive and to visit with her sweet family.

We had a great time exploring Nashville with our friends!! ! I am still loving my treadmill! Last night I ran a 5K in 32 minutes! This summer I am going to make my exercise room really cute! I am planning to paint some stripes and put some cute decor in there. It’s my little sanctuary! 🙂 As a teacher, you just have to have a way to unwind. I am so thankful my sweet hubby bought me my treadmill. I just love it!!!! Although, I’m not quite sure what I will do once I finish Downton Abbey……I’ll have to find a new show to watch while I run! 😛

Anyway, it’s officially summer break for me! I am really looking forward to having time off this summer! Yippee!!!

Be back soon!

XOXO

-Em

EmSign

One thought on “Nashville

Leave a Reply

